The Life Reentry Model seeks to provide this social structure while guiding the process of shifting from a waiting room mindset to that of re-entry; supporting individuals through understanding while leading them out of the misconception of indefinite mourning. 

A significant attempt to define the grieving process was made by Swiss psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in On Death and Dying (1969). 

She dictated the well-known sequence of stages involved in bereavement, namely denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. 

While this model has become integrated with some approaches toward grief, and accepted by the general population as accurate, it is not about living fully while discovering a brand new identity. It is about the grieving phase of the journey. 

The Life Reentry Model takes off where Kubler Ross leaves us, when the grieving and the denial and the anger and all of the emotions have been shared and talked about. 

The Life Reentry Model does not replace old models of grief instead it is the next step that has been missing. 

As we are bargaining and denying and grieving if we stay repeating these stages over and over again our journey toward healing and life reentry will not take place. And this is where the grief experiencer finds themselves in The Waiting Room. 

Waiting for time to heal us while staying in the same support group that enabled the first glimpse of healing now it is the reason for the brain to create habitual patterns of grief and story. Our mission is to see every organization adding a Life Reentry Group alongside their grief support groups where people who are ready to discover their new identity and find their way back to life have a place to go to.




The Waiting Room is the survival space inhabited after loss. It is a gap between lives: the life that has been forced into the past, and the new life that has yet to begin.


1. Reluctance to try new things
2. Withdrawal from social interactions
3. Inability to feel joy and have fun in social situations
4. Relentless worry over the smallest things
5. Rarely sharing feelings of sadness to others 

6. Loss of friendships, relationships.
7. A constant feeling of not doing enough
8. Loss of passion or making new dreams
9. Feeling the need to stay in bed during the day
10. Lack of self care habits. Grooming and appearance are no longer a priority.

Sign up to get Inspiring Life Stories in your inbox



It is an emotionally difficult event that is traditionally seen as psychologically and mentally insignificant. Therefore it has no allotted language or opportunity to express it. It is given no validation for its authenticity. It is often misunderstood and referred to as a secondary type of loss or ambiguous. The ambiguity stems from the lack of a new grief concept that belongs to the human suffering spectrum with a clear definition. LRF is here to define the invisible and provide structure for Life Reentry.